Today I’ve been teaching my apprentice about the important differences between RGB & CMYK colours. I can tell I’ve already lost some of you here, so allow me to explain:

RGB means Red Green Blue – These are the colours used on your computer screens, in various combinations to create different colours.

CMYK means Cyan Magenta Yellow blacK  (yes I know it should be CMYB, it annoys me too) – These are the colours used by your printers or on anything printed really!

Why does it matter?

Because, WHAT YOU SEE on screen IS NOT WHAT YOU GET in print. 

So, if you ever happen to print something like a flyer or leaflet or you ever work with a designer to do a project like that, please, please, I beg of you, don’t base your colour decisions on what you see on screen and don’t lean over your designer’s shoulder asking them to tweak colours constantly.

Can you see the difference between the two colours below? 

Image
Believe it or not, they are both BLACK. One is rich, one is dull. Most people will select the dull one on screen because that’s the one your software will tell you is black. Most of the time, however, you want the rich one.

See what I mean when I say colour causes problems?

If you want a rich, zingy colour, please trust your designer to deliver one! We know what we’re doing. If you don’t have a designer and need some guidance, ask for it. If you don’t have a designer and need one, PAY for it!

I always say if a project is worth doing, it’s worth doing excellently (not ‘well’ – that’s not good enough, I want excellence!)

Hopefully you agree.

